top of page
Search
  • gabbyf4

Playing Catch Up

Hello Everyone!!


I have been a little MIA working on a lot of different things here on the island so this will be a short little catch up blog!


It has officially been 2 months of living on island time and I am loving every minute of it! I am thinking of everyone with all of the flooding going on back home especially my close friends I have in Nebraska! (Love you guys)


This past month has been full of exciting things! So if you continue to follow along I will post a bunch of pictures to get you up to date!



I have done more hiking with my boy Henry

I have learned a lot about the culture - listened to a lot of Quelbe Music

I have still been doing a lot of worm farming. I have started to experiment with them and try new things. I ordered in 2,000 worms and now I have to feed them more. I was able to make them a worm smoothie that consisted of Banana Peels, Coffee grounds and Spent grain. For those of you that don't know what "spent grain" is. It is was is left after they brew beer.


This is only a few of the worms out of the bag

Here is the smoothie for the worms - they LOVED IT



We still harvest all of the produce on Wednesday mornings


We treated ourselves to some beach days


Ital took us on a medicinal plant hike - this is Yellow Cedar the National Flower




Doc took me over to St. Thomas to get goodies for my project - we made sure to stop and take in the beautiful views

Awhile back I talked about a garden we put in for a school on St. Thomas. I was able to go back and it looks awesome!



My favorite food lovin', beach babes came over to see me

Ms. Jane is one of the sweetest local ladies that made us the best lunch ever


She made the best Johnny Cakes I have ever had

My new favorite food is the Patte's she made

Ital is a local man who taught us how to carve into calabash and into these shakers from the tree




Thank you for following along on another page in my so called picture book of life!

Have a blessed day my friends - I will keep up to date for my last few weeks here

xoxo Gabriella


136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page